Merion Golf Club (East)

  • 6
    Golf Digest ranking:
  • 7
    Golf Magazine ranking:

Merion Golf Club (East)

Architect: Hugh I. Wilson
Year: 1912

450 Ardmore Avenue
Ardmore, Pennsylvania 19003
(610) 642-5600

Course Access: Private

driving range available
walking only - caddies available

U.S. Open - 1934, 1950, 1971, 1981, 2013


Tee Yardage Par Rating / Slope

View Score Card >


Merion’s East Course is often compared to a three act play with holes 1-6 providing the drama, 7-13 the comedy and 14-18 the tragedy.  Although it is known for being on the short side, this is a course that is not to be underestimated.  With its thick rough, bunker edges of tall fescue grass, small greens and an abandoned quarry that must be played over this golf course is a testament to the fact that a well designed golf course need not to be long to provide a hearty challenge.

Local Knowledge: The showers in the locker room at Merion Golf Club are widely considered the best showers in all of golf.

Read more about the Merion Golf Club (East) Experience

The Itinerant Golfer

Merion Golf Club (East)

Merion Golf Club . . . so much history has happened here that a book could be written on that alone. With a current count of 17 USGA events having been contested over Merion’s East Course that is more than any other course in the United States. Bobby Jones' first major was the 1916 US Amateur played here, he won the US Amateur here in 1924 and of course his historic US Amateur win for the Grand Slam in 1930. Ben Hogan executed a miraculous comeback to the game here at the 1950 US Open after a near death automobile accident just 1 year earlier. Lee Trevino defeated Jack Nicklaus in a dramatic 18 hole play off to become the US Open champion in 1971. As much great history as there is, the story is far from finished for Merion. The USGA will be coming back to Merion for the Walker Cup in 2009 and the US Open will return in 2013. Until 1941 when the club changed it’s name to the current version the club was known as the Merion Cricket Club. There are two courses here, the West and the more famous East. The club was originally founded in 1896 and played on the original golf course in neighboring Haverford. In 1910 the members decided to build a new course and tapped member Hugh Wilson, a Scottish immigrant, for the job. Under Wilson's watchful eye the East Course was built first and opened in 1912 with the West… More >